Motivation: Positivity is Key

Current weight loss: 5 stone 6lb (34kg)

People ask me how I stay so motivated all the time, truth is I have days where I don’t want to workout or eat healthy. Sometimes I want to get in bed, put Netflix on and eat a box of donuts, but I have many goals which keep me motivated and help to me be disciplined.

In May 2015 when I decided I wanted to lose weight and get healthy, something had changed in my head. My mindset was focused on my goal, I knew I wanted to lose weight more than anything and that’s where my motivation came from – you have to really want it to be motivated.

The initial excitement will keep you motivated to begin with, then the results you see and feel will push you even further until it becomes habit and dedication that keeps you going.

15 months ago I couldn’t walk up the stairs without needing a rest at the top, but I didn’t let that stop me, because I knew that one day that wouldn’t matter. I began with slow walks and swimming, I built up to cycling and cardio at the gym, along with a few classes (Zumba, body combat, clubbercise), more recently I’ve started HIIT training and over the next 12 weeks, I will be having Personal Training sessions to really push myself to be the best that I can be. The results that I see and feel are what keep me motivated, I am constantly seeing improvements and it makes me feel incredible.

Anything is possible when you put your mind to it – you really can achieve anything.

“You don’t have to be great to start, but you have to start to be great.”

Positivity is key

The biggest mistake people make when trying to lose weight over a long term period is to think about how far they have to go, how long it might take and how much effort it’s going to need. The best way to approach it is to think about how far you’ve come, be proud of yourself and stay positive. Take each day one at a time, don’t think about next month or next week, think about the next 24 hours and how you’re going to use them – the rest will follow!

Many people don’t believe in themselves like they should, they tell themselves they can’t do it (sometimes without even trying), however what they don’t realise is that your body can do almost anything, it’s your mind that you have to convince. So next time you’re in a situation where you think you can’t do something – believe in yourself and tell yourself you can do it!

It sounds simple when I type this, it absolutely is hard work, however, the reality is simple. If you eat healthy, work hard and remain consistent (and positive!) – you will see results and they are 100% worth the hard work.

Of course there are times when I don’t feel motivated, sometimes I don’t exercise for 3 days, sometimes I’ll eat too much pizza or drink too much wine – I’m only human! It’s ok to have those days, it’s what you do after those days that is important. Rather than punishing myself for the workout I didn’t do, or the food I ate, I just forget about it, move on and focus on the next 24 hours ahead of me.

My top ways to stay motivated:

  • surround yourself with positivity
  • believe in yourself
  • be kind to yourself
  • set goals (even really small ones – you’ll feel amazing when you reach them)
  • remind yourself of how far you’ve come
  • think about why you want it
  • remember that it doesn’t matter how slowly you go, as long as you don’t stop
  • be proud of yourself – you are amazing

Feel free to ask me any questions about my weight loss and fitness journey. Click here to follow my journey on Instagram

One thought on “Motivation: Positivity is Key

Leave a Reply

